Traditional Media Contacts:


Twitter lists of education reporters:



DAILY NEWSPAPERS


Greg Toppo
Education Reporter
USA Today
7950 Jones Branch Drive
McLean, VA 22108
703-854-3400 or 3467
gtoppo@usatoday.com
@gtoppo (Greg Toppo/USA Today)


Mary Beth Marklein
Higher Education Reporter
USA Today
7950 Jones Branch Drive
McLean, VA 22108
703-854-3400 or 3684
mmarklein@usatoday.com
@mbmarklein (Mary Beth Marklein)

Dennis Kelly
Senior Assignment Editor, Life
USA Today
7950 Jones Branch Drive
McLean, VA 22108
703-854-3400
dkelly@usatoday.com

Susan Kinzie
Education Reporter
Washington Post
1150 15th St. N.W.
Washington, DC 20071
202-334-6000 or 7296
kinzies@washpost.com

Daniel deVise
Higher Education Reporter
Washington Post
1150 15th St. N.W.
Washington, DC 20071
202-334-6000 or 9605
devised@washpost.com

Jenna Johnson
Higher Education Reporter
Washington Post
1150 15th St. N.W.
Washington, DC 20071
202-334-6000
johnsonj@washpost.com
@wpjenna (Jenna Johnson)

Craig Timberg
Education Editor
Washington Post
1150 15th St. N.W.
Washington, DC 20071
202-334-6000
timbergc@washpost.com

Jay Mathews
Education Reporter
Washington Post, Virginia Bureau
526 King Street, Suite 515
Alexandria, Va. 22314
703-518-3012
mathewsj@washpost.com

Nick Anderson
National Education Reporter
Washington Post
1150 15th St. N.W.
Washington, DC 20071
202-334-6000
andersonn@washpost.com
@wpnick (Nick Anderson)

Jen Badie
Education Editor
Baltimore Sun
501 N. Calvert St.
Baltimore, MD 21278
410-332-6000
jen.badie@baltsun.com

Childs Walker
Education Reporter
Baltimore Sun
501 N. Calvert St.
Baltimore, MD 21278
410-332-6893 or 6000
childs.walker@baltsun.com

Jane Karr, Editor
Education Life Section
New York Times
620 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10018-1405
212-556-4102 or 1234
jakarr@nytimes.com

Jack Kadden
National Desk (Education)
New York Times
620 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10018-1405
212-556-1234
kadden@nytimes.com

Tamar Lewin
National Education Reporter
New York Times
620 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10018-1405
212-556-1234
lewin@nytimes.com

Sam Dillon
Higher Education Reporter
New York Times
620 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10018-1405
212-556-1234
sdillon@nytimes.com

Jacques Steinberg
Higher Education Reporter
New York Times
620 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10018-1405
212-556-1234
jacques@nytimes.com

Mark Kantrowitz
Publisher
FinAid Page, LLC
PO Box 2056
Cranberry Township, PA 16066-1056
724-538-4500
mkant@finaid.org

Robert Lee Hotz
Science Columnist
Wall Street Journal
1211 Avenue of the Americas
New York, NY 10036
212-416-3268 or 609-520-4000
lee.hotz@wsj.com

Kathleen Kingsbury
Education Reporter
The Daily Beast
555 West 18th Street
New York, NY 10011
(347) 788-1771.
kingsbury@gmail.com

Anne-Marie Chaker
Education Reporter
Wall Street Journal
1025 Connecticut Ave. N.W. #800
Washington, DC 20036
202-862-9200
anne-marie.chaker@wsj.com


Jason Felch
Los Angeles Times
Times-Mirror Square
130 S. Broadway
Los Angeles, CA 90012-3114
Bio LA Times investigative reporter and author of the forthcoming book Chasing Aphrodite @chasingaphrodit and chasingaphrodite.com
jason.felch@latimes.com
@Jasonfelch

Gale Holland
Higher Education Reporter
Los Angeles Times
Times-Mirror Square
130 S. Broadway
Los Angeles, CA 90012-3114
213-237-7756, 7001 or 5000
gale.holland@latimes.com

Larry Gordon
Higher Education Reporter
Los Angeles Times
Times-Mirror Square
130 S. Broadway
Los Angles, CA 90012-3114
213-237-5000
larry.gordon@latimes.com

Rebecca Trounson
Education Editor
Los Angeles Times
Times-Mirror Square
130 S. Broadway
Los Angles, CA 90012-3114
213-237-5000
Rebecca.trounson@latimes.com

Peter Spots, Science Writer
The Christian Science Monitor
210 Massachusetts Ave.
Boston, MA 02115
617-450-2000
Spotsp@csps.com

Stacy Teicher Khadaroo
Learning Editor
The Christian Science Monitor
210 Massachusetts Ave.
Boston, MA 02115
617-450-2412 or 2000
teichers@csps.com

Josh Burik
Op-ed Editor
The Christian Science Monitor
210 Massachusetts Ave.
Boston, MA 02115
617-450-2452 or 2000
oped@csps.com

Laurent Belsie
National News, Ast. Editor
The Christian Science Monitor
210 Massachusetts Ave.
Boston, MA 02115
617-450-2409 or 2000
belsiel@cpsp.com

Howard LaFranchi
Christian Science Monitor
910 16th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20006
202-785-4400
laFranchiH@csps.com

Roy Greene
Education Reporter
Boston Globe
108 Spring Street
Cambridge, MA 02141
617-929-3145 or 2000
rgreene@globe.com

Tracy Jan
Higher Education Reporter
Boston Globe
135 Morrissey Blvd.
Dorchester, MA 02125
617-929-1542 or 3100
tjan@globe.com
@GlobeTracyJan (Tracy Jan)

Jodi Cohen
Higher Education Reporter
Chicago Tribune
435 North Michigan Ave.
Chicago, IL 60611
312-222-3540
jscohen@tribune.com
@higherednews (Jodi Cohen)

Stephanie Banchero
Education Writer
Chicago Tribune
435 North Michigan Ave.
Chicago, IL 60611
312-222-4346 or 320-9085
sbanchero@tribune.com

Susan Snyder
Higher Education Reporter
Philadelphia Inquirer
400 N. Broad St.
Philadelphia, PA 19101-8263
610-313-8100 or 215-854-4693
ssynder@phillynews.com

EDUCATION MEDIA


Jeff Selingo, Editor
The Chronicle of Higher Education
1255 Twenty-Third Street, NW
Washington, DC 20037
202-466-1000
jeff.selingo@chronicle.com

Liz McMillen, Editor
Chronicle Review
The Chronicle of Higher Education
1255 23rd Street, NW
Washington, DC 20037
202-466-1000

Carolyn Mooney
Senior Editor, Special Projects
The Chronicle of Higher Education
1255 23rd Street, NW.
Washington, DC 20037
202-466-1000
Carolyn.mooney@chronicle.com

Scott Jaschik, Editor
InsideHigherEd
1320 18th Street N.W. Fifth Floor
Washington, DC 20036
202-659-9208
scott.jaschik@insidehighered.com

Doug Lederman, Editor
InsideHigherEd
1320 18th Street N.W. Fifth Floor
Washington, DC 20036
202-659-9208
doug.lederman@insidehighered.com

Toni Coleman, Editor
DIVERSE: Issues in Higher Education
10520 Warwick Avenue, #B-8
Fairfax, VA 22030
703-385-2981, x.3044
tcoleman@diverseeducation.com

Ronald Roach, Education Writer
DIVERSE: Issues in Higher Education
10520 Warwick Avenue, #B-8
Fairfax, VA 22030
703-385-2980
ronald@diverseeducation.com

Catherine Gewertz
Higher Education Reporter
Education Week
6935 Arlington Road, St. 100
Bethesda, MD 20814
301-280-3100
cgerwertz@epe.org
@cgewertz (Catherine Gewertz)

Jay Goldman, Editor
American Association of School
Administrators
801 N. Quincy Street, Suite 700
Arlington, VA 22203
703-875-0745
jgoldman@umd.edu

Rachel Adams
Editor
Change Magazine
1319 Eighteenth St. NW
Washington, DC 20036
202-296-6267
radams@heldref.org

Cheryl Fields, Editor
AGB Trusteeship
1133 20th St. NW. Suite 300
Washington, DC 20036
202-296-8400
cfields@agb.org

Stacy Palmer, Editor
Chronicle of Philanthropy
1255 23rd Street, NW
Washington, DC 20037
202-466-1225 or 1200
stacy.palmer@philanthropy.com

Tim Goral, Editor
University Business
488 Main Ave.
Norwalk, CT 06851
203-663-0100
tgoral@universitybusiness.com

Alexander Russo
This Week In Education
(www.thisweekineducation.com)
742 Washington Avenue, Apt. 21
Brooklyn, NY 11238
718-622-3270
312-286-2942
alexanderrusso@gmail.com

PRINT/ONLINE MAGAZINES


Janice Simpson
Assistant Mgr. Editor (Education)
Time Magazine
1271 Avenue of the Americas
Suite 2525
New York, NY 10020-1393
212-522-2974 or 1212

Julie Rawe
Time Magazine
1271 Avenue of the Americas
Suite 2525
New York, NY 10020-1393
212-522-1212
Julie_rawe@timemagazine.com

Anne McGrath
Health and Medicine Editor
U.S. News & World Report
1050 Thomas Jefferson St. N.W.
Washington, DC 20007-3871
202-955-2467 or 2000
amcgrath@usnews.com

Kenneth Terrell
Managing Editor, Nation & World
U.S. News & World Report
1050 Thomas Jefferson St. N.W.
Washington, DC 20007-3871
202-955-2000
kterrell@usnews.com

Sara Clarke, Education Editor
U.S. News & World Report,
1050 Thomas Jefferson St., NW
Washington, D.C. 20007-3837
202-955-2000
sclarke@usnews.com

Kim Clark, Education Reporter
U.S. News & World Report,
1050 Thomas Jefferson St., NW
Washington, D.C. 20007-3837
202-955-2000
kclark@usnews.com

Zach Miners
Education Reporter
U.S. News & World Report
1050 Thomas Jefferson St. NW
Washington, DC 20007
202-955-2170
zminers@usnews.com

Robert Morse
Research Director
U.S. News & World Report
1050 Thomas Jefferson St. N.W.
Washington, DC 20007-3871
202-955-2000
rmorse@usnews.com

Sharon Begley
Science Columnist
Newsweek
251 West 57 St.
New York, NY 10019
212-445-4000 or 4102
Sharon.begley@newsweek.com

Debra Rosenberg
Assistant Managing Editor (Education)
Newsweek
251 West 57 St.
New York, NY. 10533
212-445-4000 or 4637
debra.rosenberg@newsweek.com

Patrice Wingert
Education Correspondent
Newsweek, Suite 1220
1750 Pennsylvania Ave. N.W.
Washington, DC 20006-4504
202-626-2080 or 2000
patrice.wingert@newsweek.com

Jane Bennett Clark
Associate Editor
Kiplinger’s Personal Finance
1729 H St. N.W.
Washington, DC 20006-3924
202-887-6400
janebclark@kiplinger.com

David M. Ewalt
Deputy Editor, Special Projects
Forbes Magazine
60 5th Avenue
New York, NY 10011
212-366-8900

Hanna R. Alperts
Education Reporter
Forbes Magazine
60 5th Avenue
New York, NY 10011
212-366-8900

Tom Siegfried, Editor-in-Chief
Science News
1719 N Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036-2888
202-785-2255
tsiegfried@societyforscience.org
Nathan Seppa, Biomedical Writer

Science News
1719 N Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036-2888
202-872-5161 or 202-785-2255
nseppa@sciserv.org

Colin Norman, News Editor
Science Magazine
1200 New York Ave., NW
Washington, DC 20005
202-326-6500
cnorman@aaas.org

TV NETWORKS & CABLE TELEVISION PROGRAMS


Jenny Marder
Education Reporter
NewsHour with Jim Lehrer
3620 South 27th Street
Arlington, VA 22206-2304
703-998-2150
jmarder@newshour.org

Martine Rodriguez
C-SPAN National News Editor
400 N. Capitol, NW Suite 650
Washington, DC 20001
202-626-4845
mrodriguez@c-span.org or
events@c-span.org

Peter Slen
Senior Executive Producer
Book TV on C-SPAN
400 N. Capitol St., NW, Suite 650
Washington, DC 20001
202-626-4891
pslen@c-span.org

Cory Charles
Director of CNN International Booking
One CNN Center, Floor 5,South Tower
Atlanta, GA 30303
404-827-1520
cory.charles@turner.com

Michelle Cumbo, Producer
American Morning
CNN
1 Time Warner Center, Floor 5
New York, NY 10019
212-275-7843 or 7800
michelle.cumbo@turner.com

Marilyn Joseph, Sr. Ed. Producer
Dayside Programming Newsroom –
AM and PM
CNN, One CNN Center
P.O. Box 105366
Atlanta, GA 30348
404-827-1500 or 878-2283
marilyn.joseph@turner.com

Laurie Luhn
Guest Booking Director
FNC/Fox News Channel
400 N. Capitol St. NW, Ste. 550
Washington, DC 20001-1502
202-824-6377
luhn@foxnews.com

Patty Neger
Senior Segment Producer
ABC's "Good Morning America"
147 Columbus Avenue
New York, NY 10023
212-456-6157
patty.neger@abc.com

Lisa Green, Senior Producer
Today Weekend Edition
30 Rockefeller Plaza
Room 1011 West
New York, NY 10112
212-664-7869
lisa.green@nbcuni.com

Antoinette Machiaverna
Producer
Today Show
30 Rockefeller Plaza
New York, NY 10112
212-664-5204
antoinette.machiaverna@nbc.com

Dee Dee Thomas
Supervising Producer
Today Show
30 Rockefeller Plaza
New York, NY 10112
212-664-4602
deedee.thomas2@nbc.com

Mike Leonard
Today Show, Features Correspondent
869 Pine St.
Winnetka, IL 60093
847-501-4448 or 917-751-2424
MPL14@yahoo.com or
mike.leonard@nbc.com

Rehema Ellis
Education Corespondent
NBC News
@rehemanbcnews (rehema ellis)

John Merrow, President
Learning Matters, Inc.
6 E. 32nd Street, 8th Fl.
New York, NY10016
212-725-7000
jmerrow@merrow.org
@John_Merrow (John Merrow)

John Tulenko, Senior Producer
Learning Matters, Inc.
6 E. 32nd Street, 8th
New York, NY 10016
212-725-7000
jtulenko@merrow.org

RADIO NETWORKS,

PROGRAMS


Michele Norris
All Things Considered
National Public Radio
635 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W.
Washington, DC 20001
202-513-2000
mnorris@npr.org

Claudio Sanchez
Education Correspondent
National Public Radio
635 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W.
Washington, DC 20001
202-513-2000 or 2768
csanchez@npr.org

Larry Abramson
Education Correspondent
National Public Radio
635 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W.
Washington, DC 20001
202-513-2439 or 2000
labramson@npr.org

Chris Turpin, Executive Producer
NPR’s All Things Considered
635 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W.
Washington, DC 20001-3753
202-513-2000 or 2123
cturpin@npr.org

Susan Feeney, Senior Editor
National Public Radio
635 Massachusetts Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20001
202-513-2000
sfeeney@npr.org

Steve Drummond
Senior National Editor
NPR News
635 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W.
Washington, DC 20001-3753
202-513-2000
sdrummond@npr.org

Ellen McDonnell,
Executive Producer
Morning Edition
635 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W.
Washington, DC 20001-3753
202-513-2000 or 2159
emcdonnell@npr.org

Ira Flatow
NPR’s Science Friday
4 W. 43rd St., Suite 306
New York, NY 10036
800-989-8255
eflatow@npr.org

Amy Salit, Producer
Fresh Air with Terry Gross
WHYY-FM
150 N. 6th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106
215-351-1200 or 1242
asalit@whyy.org

News Assignment Editor
Bloomberg Radio News
731 Lexington Ave. Floor 4
New York, NY 10022
212-617-4817 or 318-2000
release@bloomberg.net

Robert Garcia, Bureau Chief
ABC News Radio
1717 DeSales Street
Washington, DC 20036-4401
202-222-6600
Robert.garcia@abc.com

Rusty Lutz, Assgnmt. Editor
ABC News Radio
1717 DeSales Street
Washington, DC 20036-4401
202-222-7600
rusty.M.lutz@abc.com

Charlie Kaye
Executive Producer
CBS Radio
524 W. 57th St.
New York, NY 10019
212-975-3791
CKA@cbsnews.com

Tene Croom, Director of News
American Urban Radio Networks
960 Penn Avenue, Suite 200
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
412-456-4000
tenecroom@aol.com

Glenn Busby, Deputy Manager
Nat. Productions & Producer/Co-Host
The Best of Our Knowledge
WAMC/Northeast Public Radio
318 Central Avenue
Albany, NY 12206-6600
518-465-5233, ext. 184
gbusby@wamc.org

Ed Tobias
Assistant Managing Editor, News
Associated Press Broadcast News
1100 13th St. NW, Suite 700
Washington, DC 20005-4051
(202) 641-9000
etobias@ap.org

WIRES, SYNDICATES


John Affleck, Editor
AP National News Reporting
450 W. 33rd
New York, NY 10001
212-621-7352
jaffleck@ap.org.

Jerry Schwartz
Editor, AP Newsfeatures
450 W. 33rd
New York, NY 10001
212-621-1625 or 1500
jschwartz@ap.org

Justin Pope
National Higher Education Reporter
Associated Press
4800 Six Forks Road, Suite 200
Raleigh, NC 27609
919-783-9179
jpope@ap.org

Eric Gorski
National Higher Education Writer
Associated Press
1444 Wazee St., Suite 130
Denver CO 80202-1395
303-629-0701
egorski@ap.org
@egorski (Eric Gorski)

Libby Quaid
Associated Press, Washington
1100 13th St. NW, Suite 700
Washington, DC 20005-4051
(202) 641-9457 or 9000
lquaid@ap.org
@lquaid (Libby Quaid)

Bill McQuillen
Bloomberg News Service
1399 New York Ave. NW 11th Floor,
Washington, DC 20005
202-624-1820 or 1849
bmcquillen@bloomberg.net

Michael Waldholz
Mg. Editor, Environment, Education
and Science
Bloomberg News Service
731 Lexington ave.
New York, NY 10022-1331
212-318-2000
mwaldholz@bloomberg.net

Kurt Heine
Bloomberg News Service
731 Lexington ave.
New York, NY 10022-1331
212-318-2000 or 212-617-5462
kheine@bloomberg.net

Janet Frankston Lorin
Reporter, Education
731 Lexington ave.
New York, NY 10022-1331
212-318-2000
jlorin@bloomberg.net

Oliver Stanley
Reporter, Education
Bloomberg News Service
731 Lexington ave.
New York, NY 10022-1331
212-318-2000
ostanley@bloomberg.net

Tom Moroney
Boston Bureau Chief
Bloomberg News Service
100 Summer St. Suite 2810
Boston, MA
617-210-4600 or 617-210-4617
tmarone@bloomberg.net

Jonathan Kaufman
Education Editor
Bloomberg News Service
100 Summer St. Suite 2810
Boston, MA
617-210-4600 or 617-210-4638
jkaufman17@bloomberg.net

Dan Golden
Education Reporter
Bloomberg News Service
100 Summer St. Suite 2810
Boston, MA
617-210-4600
dlgolden@bloomberg.net

John Hechinger
Education Reporter
Bloomberg News Service
100 Summer St. Suite 2810
Boston, MA
617-210-4600 or 4614
jhechinger@bloomberg.net

Higher Education Blogs


Daniel deVise, “Campus, Inc.”
Blogger/Reporter,
www.WashingtonPost.com
devised@washpost.com

Tim Goral, Editor
www.UniversityBusiness.com
tgoral@universitybusiness.com

Jenna Johnson, “Campus Overload”
Blogger/Reporter,
www.WashingtonPost.com
johnsonj@washpost.com
@wpjenna (Jenna Johnson)

Mary Beth Marklein, “College Material”
Blogger/Reporter, www.USA Today.com
mmarklein@usatoday.com
@mbmarklein (Mary Beth Marklein)

Jay Mathews,“Class Struggle”
Blogger/Reporter,
www.WashingtonPost.com
mathewsj@washpost.com

Robert Morse, “The Morse Code,”
Blogger/Reporter, www.usnews.com
rmorse@usnews.com

Christopher Shea, “Brainiac:
Illuminating Thoughts from the World
of Ideas,” Columnist,
www.Boston.com.
brainiac.email@gmail.com

Jacques Steinberg, “The Choice,”
Blogger/Reporter, www.NYTimes.com
jacques@nytimes.com